Oxfordshire Teaching Schools Alliance
Oxfordshire Teaching Schools Alliance

Post 16 Trained Teachers

Post 16 qualified teachers may be eligible to apply for Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills Status (QTLS). Teachers applying for QTLS must hold a level 5 initial teacher training qualification.


Since April 2012, FE trained teachers with QTLS have been recognised in legislation as equivalent in status to teachers with QTS in schools.  They are able to teach across all subjects and all ages on equal pay and conditions.


Teachers with QTLS are exempt from NQT Induction.


Teachers with post-16 qualifications who do not hold QTLS are technically 'unqualified teachers'.


To find out more about QTLS visit the Society for Education and Training website.


OTSA Newsletter

Join over 3000 people who receive the OTSA Newsletter and email updates.





Privacy Notice

Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Oxfordshire Teaching Schools Alliance